SMMA logo
Image for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018 shortlist
The CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018 shortlist

Shadowing the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018

22 March 2018

The 2018 shortlist for the UK’s oldest and most prestigious children’s book award, The CILIP Carnegie Medal, has been announced.

The Carnegie Medal celebrates outstanding writing for children and young people, and sees a range of YA and Middle Grade books make the shortlist.

Patrick Ness is in the running for his third Carnegie Medal win with Release, which would make him the first author to secure a hat-trick in the Medal’s 81-year history. To date, Ness has been shortlisted for all seven of his children’s books and won twice, with A Monster Calls (2012) and Monsters of Men (2011).

He is joined by Geraldine McCaughrean and Marcus Sedgwick, who have both been shortlisted for the Medal for the seventh year (McCaughrean was shortlisted twice in one year in 2011), with Where the World Ends and Saint Death respectively.

McCaughrean has won the Medal once before, with A Pack of Lies (1988). Other authors with works included on the eight-strong Carnegie shortlist include teen-rapper-turned-debut-author Angie Thomas (The Hate U Give), former shortlistees Lauren Wolk (Beyond the Bright Sea), Lissa Evans (Wed Wabbit), Will Hill (After the Fire) and Anthony McGowan (Rook).

The CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018 shortlist (alphabetically by author surname):

1. Wed Wabbit by Lissa Evans (David Fickling Books)
2. After the Fire by Will Hill (Usborne)
3. Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean (Usborne)
4. Rook by Anthony McGowan (Barrington Stoke)
5. Release by Patrick Ness (Walker Books)
6. Saint Death by Marcus Sedgwick (Orion)
7. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Walker Books)
8. Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk (Corgi)

Our pupils will be will be taking part in the Carnegie Shadowing Scheme and will be reading, discussing and writing reviews on the shortlisted title. The shortlisted books are available in the library.

On Monday 18 June, the day on which the winner will be announced, we will have a special book club session and a book award party.  Anyone who has read a book on the shortlist will be welcome to join us.