SMMA logo
Photo of Bedo and Stan triumphing in the Islington Schools Running League Year 7 & 8 race
Bedo and Stan triumph in the Islington Schools Running League Year 7 & 8 race

A flying start for our sporting year!

21 September 2017

This year’s elite sports programme is off to a cracking start.

At the opening fixture of the Islington Schools Running League, Bedo and Stan (pictured above) took 1st and 2nd places in the Year 7 & 8 Boys race. Bedo led from the first lap, edging away from his St Aloysius and Mossbourne competitors. At the same time – and making his SMMA debut – Stan was in close contention as he controlled second place on a very hilly course.

Several other Year 7 debutants, together with Year 8’s Seth Telford, made a good pack coming through – very promising for the team prize this year.

Congratulations also to Jessica Read and Emma Bourne who were selected to attend the London Youth Games trials.

And, after a lively set of try–outs for each of our elite sports teams – and a record turnout for girls’ football – we’re delighted to announce our new squad lists, below:

Year 7/8 girls’ football

Ashana Asomani
Miriam Girma
Katherine McVicar-Tsang
Ella Denison
Ella Graves
Lily Belle Welch
Yabsira Melaku
Deborah Atrie
Julia Szumilas
Kimiya Richards
Savannah Sampson
Hannah Bourne
Leandra Megan
Hollie Evans
Zoe Little
Caitlan Gray-Leigh
Jo-Jo Inegbenebho
Danielle Mcnish-Campbell
Scarlett Isaac
Lola Lauchlan

Massive congratulations all who participated in an SMMA record trial turn-out for girls’ football.

Year 7 boys’ basketball

Jarelle Coker
Sam Hewitt
Alexandro Wynne- Maldonado
Marcus Mitchell
James Gibbons
Christian Orejobi
Abel Ndukuba
Wyndham Winterburn
Jim Parfitt

Hockey trial at SMMA

Year 7 hockey

Kalan Wooley
Matteo Mengardo
Jake Earl
James Read
Elliot Cardiff
Patrick Davis
Dea Salihu
Rawan Gabsi

Year 7 boys’ football

Joseph Gurie
Jonnie Gurie
Huseyin Yildiz
Stan Hasson
Freddie Daly
Ezra Cole
Oscar Phillips
Tyson Mcintosh
Aisiah Francis
Tom Whitlock
Charles Genovese
Elliot Johnston Cardiff
Samuel Little
Archie Day
Khalil Nacer
Leo Vasquez Rohloff